Ragnarok descends at ICON 2017

What does a SeeD Commander do when she has reached one of the realms of the geek? From 16th-18th of June I set my course for ICON 2017. Upon the arrival at my destination, I departed from the Ragnarok airship and entered this familiar realm.

It’s the 25th Anniversary of ICON and it has returned to the same venue as last year. There was all sorts of gaming, merchandise, replicas, clothes, jewelry, panels, art work from masterful artists as well as Cosplay. The event has yet again brought us Special Guests – local and international.
The Guests were:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The event has also seen the return of screenings and split it in two in order to accommodate shows from Nickelodeon and Nick Jr.

 

On Saturday, my mission marker was set at ICON. I was to go to the event and meet fellow warriors and heroes of the like, but that was not all. One does not just simply meet the good guys…No… You come face to face with warriors of the Just as well as the villains (insert Myahaha here).
I admit that I have traveled to a number of areas in order to interact with my side-missions, but I had to stay focused on one of my main missions…to meet and interview International Cosplayer “Vampy Bit Me” a.k.a. -Fem Nightwing. Once that was done, a Hi-Potion would have been in order as the unseen predictive-text battle came out of nowhere like our friendly neighborhood Tonberry.

FF8_Tonberry

The Interview went Live on the morning of June 17th and I have to admit that I am glad to have met this fantastic and wonderful Cosplayer. DSC_0075

At the end of the interview our Fem Nightwing went off to get ready for the group photos with Cosplayers – who have been asked to gather around near her stall.

My next objective was just that, to head down and wait alongside heroes, villains and antiheroes. Time flashed and counted down like a scene from 24 until the moment came to be, Fem Nightwing Greyso-I mean graced us with her presence as we all came together for the group photo.

 

The following day (Sunday 18th June) was a little more difficult… Holy crap, it was freezing. ICON came and went, I thought I’d spend some time watching some Nick-toons. I saw the rival of Chuck Norris live in a Pineapple under the sea and grill crabby-patties. Then I watched as the Last Airbender get his name pronounced the way it always does…unlike in other universes. What came next was… “OH MY FREAKING GOSH! IT’S JAFAR!!!” then I had Arabian Nights stuck in my head which was tempting me to sing it out loud, but that was not about to happen.

In attempt to track down Jafar, I witnessed the early start to the Cosplay Competition. I took some photos without my usual trusty camera and as time passed, so did time get closer for the results to come in.
It was time and I took my seat as Media and like the Interview the previous day, I was about to go Live on Twitter with footage of #ICON2017 #CosplayCompetition

The Cosplay Competition Winners are:

A Special award:
First Ever ICON Pet Cosplay: SA Guide Dogs (a bee)

 

The Skits Category:
1st Place: Maoukami Cosplay (Noctis Lucis Caelum from Final Fantasy XV)
2nd Place: JinxKittie Cosplay (Saber from Fate/Stay Night)
3rd Place: Cookie Cat Creations & Chaotic Good (Mable Pines, Bill Cipher and Gruncle Stan from Gravity Falls)

 

A Special award:

Junior Cosplay: Amelia (Lady Sylvanas Windrunner from World of WarCraft)

 

The Novice / Intermediate Cosplay Category:
1st Place: BunnieBites Cosplay (Star Guardian Poppy from League of Legends)
2nd Place: A’dleres Cosplay (Onyx Guard from Gears of War)
3rd Place: Light River Cosplay (Ursula from Once Upon A Time)

 

Masters Cosplay Category:
1st Place: Anakapat Cosplay (Doctor Strange from the 2016 movie)
2nd Place: Kinpatsu Cosplay (Lady Sylvanas Windrunner from World of WarCraft)
3rd Place: JinxKittie Cosplay (Saber from Fate/stay Night)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations to all those who placed!
And whether you have placed or not, competed or just Cosplayed for fun… YOU LOOKED AWESOME!
It was great to meet every one of you and I can’t wait to see you all again.

To the people of ICON, staff members, stall-owners, Con-goers, Cosplayers and overall geeks:
Stay Safe and Stay Awesome!

Maybe I’m a Moogle, maybe I’m a Lioness…

DSC_0067

Leave a Reply

